Turtle Art

In my turtle art project, I chose to do something with spirals. I was inspired by a website with turtle art examples.

This is a picture of the final drawing. The yellow lines aren’t there on purpose. They were issues with moving the turtle before starting up a new spiral. I tried using pen-up/pen-down, but I still don’t know what’s causing this issue.

In the start block, the code clears the screen and makes the background black (set shade => 0). Then it creates 3 spirals, moving after each one. As you can see, I try to use pen-up/pen-down, but it still draws as it moves to make the next spiral. I change the colors in between spirals, but since I’m making the pen size smaller (shown in the next code block), the color changes don’t show up.

In the spiral code block, I set the position of the turtle to 35, 0. I set the pen size, color, and shade. In a repeat loop, I shrink the pen size and set the color to a shade of yellow. (The color change in the previous code block is caused by this). In a loop nested in that, I call the move and arcs action blocks.

In the move action block, it moves forward, right, forward again, and back (I now realize that I could just have a back block move -6.66, because forward 33.33 and back 40 is just back 6.66). It then turns left and back once more. This is the movement necessary to provide the foundation for the arcs.

In the arcs action block, I just create arcs of angle 120 or -120 (1/3 of a circle) with radii of 30 or -30. The positive/negative values of 120 and 30 are used to create a forward/backward motion for the arcs, making a sort of spiral shape.

One thought on “Turtle Art

  1. This is an absolutely fantastic blog post. Extremely well done, and I love the depth in your reflection. Lots of detail, you really break down what you did. Exemplary work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar